top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdam Polidano

Visual Thinking Journal.




I will be making use of this blog post as an online journal, I will be discussing my thought process on how I came to achieve the final product.


The whole thought process began whilst I was walking in my home town when I noticed the surplus of abandoned buildings and building sites.


after making this realization I observed further and I noticed that it was not only abandoned buildings that were piquing my interest but everything else - numerous building sites, abandoned cultural heritage sites, buildings in progress which might never be finished, this as before leading me to look even further which pointed me to observing how society is treating the environment around us.


Seeing all these elements led me to taking a stand - I had done this through the medium of photography, I wanted to bring light to what was happening within our country.


My Process Began by going around my hometown and separating myself from the outside world - think of it as a type of tunnel vision.

I had tried to disconnect from the world as much as possible by only observing buildings - an extra step I took here was to turn off my phone to reduce distraction.


The way I shot the buildings made them feel way bigger than they are, I had used a wide-angle lens at focal length 24mm to capture the whole building and give some distortion to further emphasize my message of how everything is mismatched.


My main inspirations for this project had been Ralph Gräf and Arnaud Bertrande, mainly on how they both capture colossal buildings but still manage to retain details and composition.



As for my editing techniques I had experimented with multiple different styles but mainly I had stuck to fixing colours individually and adding a slight curve to my images and trying to keep an "Instagram" look. - my main inspiration for post-processing was Benjamin Ellis https://www.instagram.com/benjamin_ellis_/


As for print and layout, I had opted to print everything on fine art paper as it is my preferred go-to paper, and I would have had my newspaper printed in a similar paper.


as for exhibition, I would have them exhibited in a similar way to how the Lithuianoin national art gallery had exhibited the "Collecting Hits" by the Lewban art foundation.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Task 1 Reporting.

https://www.vogue.co.uk/miss-vogue/article/what-its-like-to-sell-secondhand-clothing-depop After reading and analyzing this article I can write about how I feel about it, it is a very well constructed

bottom of page